Each year an elected curator, chosen by the Trustees from a wide and eclectic number of Katrin Cartlidge’s friends and colleagues, nominates a new creative voice to receive an annual bursary.

While the new talent nominated each year will be a filmmaker, it is anticipated that the choices will be as varied and extraordinary as Katrin’s own choice of filmmakers and friends from across the arts.

The Katrin Cartlidge Foundation hopes that the value of this award will be not only in the bursary itself, but also in the help and support given to the recipient by the trustees and patrons.

The recipient of each year’s bursary is announced and presented in August at the Sarajevo Film Festival.

Sarajevo was chosen as a permanent home for the award because Katrin Cartlidge, through her work in the Balkans with Danis Tanovic in NO MAN’S LAND and Milcho Manchevski in BEFORE THE RAIN, had a natural empathy with the region.  It also seems fitting as shortly before Katrin Cartlidge died she attended the Sarajevo Film Festival with Mike Leigh, and was deeply affected and impressed.

For more information about the Sarajevo Film Festival visit

Year Curator Recipient
2011 Charlotte Rampling HALA LOTFY


2009 Stellan Skarsgard JUANITA WILSON
2008 Danis Tanovic FARUK SABANOVIC
2007 John Lyons CARY FUKUNAGA
2006 Simon  McBurney and Juergen Teller EYAS SALMAN AND GERD SCHNEIDER
2005 Emily Watson AMY NEIL
2004 Mike Leigh GREG HALL